About Us

Shawna Holden

Shawna Holden Principal Shawna_Holden@hcpss.org

Melanie Secula

Melanie Secula Assistant Principal melanie_secula@hcpss.org
I am very excited for the 2016-2017 school year! This will be my third year as the Assistant Principal at Atholton Elementary. I look forward to another wonderful school year. This year we will continue to focus on goal setting with your child. You can also support your child at home with the goals they are working on here at school. Ask your child what they are working on and encourage them to go for their goal! I am very excited to continue to get to know you and your child throughout the school year. I also look forward to meeting all the new students and families that are joining Atholton this school year. We will have a fun and exciting school year.

School Overview

Vision: Our vision is to prepare responsible, college and career ready students to excel in diverse local and global communities.

Mission: The mission of Atholton Elementary School is to partner with students, staff, families, and the community to create a supportive, engaging, and collaborative learning community, cultivating creative thinking, honoring diversity, and empowering students to become self-motivated learners. 

  • Active Learning.
  • Excellent Teaching.
  • Success for All.

Mascot: Panthers

Board of Education Representative

Howard County public schools are divided into school clusters, which are assigned to individual Board members to facilitate school visitations, attend special events, and provide a point of contact for each school community. View all BOE school cluster assignments.

AES BOE Representative: Bess Altwerger, Ed.D.